Book details
Look Inside
Historical Books I: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 and 2 Samuel - Liguori Catholic Bible Study

Historical Books I: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 and 2 Samuel - Liguori Catholic Bible Study

William A. Anderson
Awaiting Shipment

RRP $28.95

Your price $28.95

Sophia BookClub $24.61

After Moses’ death, Joshua leads the Israelites into the Promised Land—a triumph that should have fulfilled the hopes and expectations of the Israelites, yet somehow does not. In Historical Books I: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 and 2 SamuelFather William A. Anderson describes how the journey continues for the Israelites, who encounter new struggles and ambitions. Though in many ways their hopes were realized, the blessings received were not what they had envisioned.

Father Anderson shows us that their story is our story in a different context. God is faithful to the covenant, but the people have difficulty grasping what God is doing in them and how large God’s vision is. As you walk through Israelite history in these narratives of glory and woe, look carefully—you might even glimpse your own story as God continues to make you anew.

This title is part of the Liguori Catholic Bible Study. The study is a series of 21 books introducing each and every book of the Bible, providing insight into the Sacred Words of antiquity, and inviting us to discover the living Word and its impact on our daily lives. With narrative, study questions, reflections, keynotes, and prayer, your understanding of Scripture will be deepened with the introduction tot the spiritual practice of lectio divina.

William A. Anderson, DMin, PhD, is a presbyter of the Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston in West Virginia. This director of retreats and parish missions, professor, catechist, spiritual director, and former pastor has written extensively on pastoral, spiritual, and religious subjects. Father Anderson earned his doctor of ministry degree from St. Mary's Seminary; University in Baltimore, and his doctorate in sacred theology from Duquesne University in Pittsburgh.


Copyright © 2022 Garratt Publishing. Prices may vary without notice.

Website by Summit Creative